A history of my vitiligo and treatments

IMG_1952I guess I’ll start this off with a history of my vitiligo. I have what is called segmental vitiligo. It means it usually happens on only one side of the body and not in bilateral form like generalized vitiligo. I only have it on my face including my right cheek and around my right eye. It is believed that segmental vitiligo may have a different cause than the more common generalized vitiligo.

I first noticed a small pea-sized spot on my cheek when I was 25 years old (I’m 34 now). I went to a dermatologist and they ruled out any kind of fungus. Unfortunately, I was then diagnosed with vitiligo. Oh no! Me? Isn’t vitiligo what Michael Jackson had!? It was a trying time as this was all new to me.

2007 - Early spots

2007 – Early spots

I started treatment right away with Protopic cream. I’d say that this greasy topical cream had little to no effect on me. I then moved on to Elidel cream which was even less effective. I also had a dermatologist who made me a compound cream of Protopic, Elidel, Tacromilus and some other things. All the topical stuff had barely any effect on me.

I bounced around from dermatologist to dermatologist. In some cases, I would go in knowing more about vitiligo then the doctor themselves. This was discouraging.

April 2009

April 2009

Early on in my vitiligo, I had a doctor prescribe me Xtrac Laser treatments. This had the best results as I saw about 50-60% repigmentation. I went twice a week for six months to get this 5 minute treatment done. I’d go very early morning (they opened at 6am!) and she’d zap my face several times with a wand and then I’d leave. This was working pretty well but in the last couple of months progress stopped. They suggested I had reached my limit on progress and we decided to stop.

Maybe a couple of years later I asked for and was prescribed a handheld Narrow band UVB wand to use on my own at home. Progress with this method was hard for me to tell. It had minimal results so I eventually stopped.

I then discovered MKTP maybe around 2009-2010. It wasn’t some years later until I got the wheels rolling to make this thing a reality. This blog is for those people like me who scoured the internet looking for research and answers.

6 thoughts on “A history of my vitiligo and treatments

  1. Dipesh says:

    Hello there. So glad to read this. I am going through EXACT same vitiligo like yours. It started with a pea-sized white spot, which started right after a traumatic incident for me. Now, after 2 years it has spread to exactly your vitiligo size with beard turning white, and skin under my skin turning white. I have started the UVB Narrowband treatment at home from this week, I will examine the progress for a month. But, reading your article and your progress has given me hope that was rapidly diminishing before. Easily the best piece of information online. Thank you very much. I can’t appreciate it more.

  2. Maira says:

    He looks like you are so lucky.. As you have reasearched alot i would really appreciate if you could answer my question..i am a 20 years old girl and I developed only 2 small dots of vitiligo on my genital area but i did not know what was it and never cared about it ,now after one year i developed 2 patches(around 3 inch) on my lower back(almost on my buttocks), I went to the doctor and he said its vitiligo, i asked him if it will spread on my face or not he said dont worry because vitiligo usually starts from hands,face,neck,knees and then there are chances that it will spread on your face but i am afraid if it spreads what will i do because i cant imagine myself like this after 20 years of my life..can a doctor tell by seeing that it is not the type of vitiligo that will cover your face??? And please tell me are there any permanent treatments for it,i dont have any problem with them spreading on body because i have a fair complexiaon but i love my face and i would never in my life want a dot on face 😦 please help me i am so tensed that i cant even eat,,i havent been going to my school as well from the last few days 😦 please tell me if they can be treated permanently or if not permanently but long lasting treatments ?

    • Hi, there are lots of people that get it on their body and not on their face. Do you have spots one one side of your body or is it sort of symmetrical on both sides? My type of vitiligo was only on my face and on one side. There is generalized vitiligo, which is symmetrical on both sides and can be more extensive. Then there is focal vitiligo which is only on one side and spreads slowly. MKTP proves to be a great treatment for focal vitiligo. I need to post more pics but I am happy with the results and it is barely spreading any more. Hang in there and don’t stress. Get a blacklight and look at your face in the dark in a mirror. Vitiligo spots will glow white. If you notice a small spot go back to your doctor and show them. Make sure to find a dermatologist that knows about vitiligo. I have actually been to some docs where I knew more than them.

  3. Ken says:

    Hi, thank you for your blogging your experience with MKTP! It is extremely helpful and sets aside some of the concerns I have potentially as with any other treatment. I too have segmental vitiligo (forehead and scalp) and I was wondering if you had any success with color coming back in your follicles of your beard? I also wasn’t sure if you have alopecia areata in your bearded area, but if you did, did you notice any hair growth after MKTP with your natural color coming back as well on the areas that repigmented? Thanks!

    • So I do have full hair growth in my beard just as thick as the rest of my face. But it’s so white you can barely see it when it’s not grown out. While I did get most of my pigment back, the hairs did not. The issue is that follicles are deeper in your skin than the epidermis which is treated with this procedure. My skin pigmented but hairs stayed white. But it’s still worth it.

Leave a comment